Why you will ALWAYS BE 2nd Place! #MotivationMonday

I saw a shirt once that said “Lazy But Talented.” I can’t begin to describe the anger I felt. I was LITERALLY angry because this company was promoting the one mindset that has perpetuated the locker-rooms of so many high schools in the inner-city and even crept into colleges and even pro teams. I’m sure if you think about it that you can think about at least one athlete you know or knew who “was a beast” or “could have definitely went to the league” but, ….“They are(were) LAZY!!”

It really grinds my gears to think about the talent that is wasted all because of laziness. You have to understand, I was never a “natural athlete,” I mean, I ended up being an alright football player, (in my humble opinion), but everything I ever achieved I attributed, first to the grace of God, and then to the hours on hours on hours of Hard Work! Whether it be in the weight-room, on the field, in the gym, I always worked! So it pisses me off something serious when I see someone kinda coast off of talent. Heck, I even had to live with one of these people. Someone who was a naturally gifted athlete with speed, agility, quickness, (he was a lil shrimpy in size but I digress) fact of the matter was that I envied my brother because of his natural gifts. But I realized something that he didn’t. I realized that if I was going to be a good athlete, I was going to have to work for it. I would have to train to get faster, stronger, and quicker, but he couldn’t train to be taller. When God says your going to be 5’7″ there’s nothing you can really do bout it… (Kanye shrug)

I ended up playing four years of college football; becoming one of the best defensive lineman in the country, and that’s all because I worked and did the things that most didn’t want to do.

The reason people usually don’t reach their potential is because they become content with the skills and talents they already have, never really taking the time to hone those skills and develop those talents. They never Go The Extra Mile! 

It’s in that extra mile that you find out about who you are and what you’re made of. It’s in that extra mile that you learn your limits you learn to push past those limits. It’s going to be rough and it will not be comfortable but anything worth having is worth sacrificing for.  You’re going to have to give up something to reach your goals. No matter what it is, if you want to be successful you are going to have to step outside your comfort zone and do something that may be a little extreme. You may have to get up at 4 a.m and run, or stay up all night studying, or stay after practice and work on techniques and just do more!

One of my favorite scriptures from the Bible is found in Philippians, chapter 3, verses 13 and 14, “Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize …” Paul (the author) was talking about getting to heaven, and whilst we do need to strive to live lives pleasing to God, we can also apply this same concept to other areas of life.

Don’t settle thinking that you are already the best. Continue to work, press, and strive toward your goals and once you get there…Keep Going! Don’t ever become content with “just making it” but Dominate the task. Dominate your opponent, Dominate your goals! Dominate Life!

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in #MotivationMonday, Fitness

Leave a Reply

