What 5 year-olds teach us about fitness…

Today I was mobbed by 25…no, 35..wait….no, 50 kids who were in kindergarten, 1st and 2nd grade. For some reason one of the kids said I had candy and the next thing I knew, I was running….FROM CHILDREN!! For a minute I was actually scared so I probably ran faster than needed, but nonetheless, I WAS OUT!

I would run around for a minute, then get them to freeze in place for a minute, run for a minute, stop for a minute; this cycle went on for about 10 minutes. Then the trainer in me asked my security officer self, “Why are you doing Interval Training at work?!” … I didn’t have the answer. I realized that because I was focused on not getting caught and actually having fun I didn’t see that I was engaging in a most beneficial metabolic activity.

You know the children were completely oblivious to this fact! They couldn’t care less about interval training and the EPOC effect (excess post-exercise oxygen consumption) All they knew was that they were having fun trying to catch Mr. Allen and get the imaginary candy. (O_0??)

So what do we learn from 5, 6, and 7 year-olds about working out?

If you do something that you enjoy, you won’t care what you’re doing or how long you have to do it. You just “geterdone!”

Too often we make exercise a chore and something we “have to do.”

Instead of taking the “omg I have to exercise and get all sweaty nasty” approach, find something you enjoy. If you like lifting weights, lift weights. If Crossfit is your thing, God bless ya. If you wanna Zumba your pounds away, then Zumba your butt off!

There’s no body around to force you to do things you don’t want to do so why become that person for yourself?

One thing to be aware of is the fact that just like everything else in this universe there are laws that govern the way things are. Fitness is no different. Strength training will always supersede hours of cardiovascular exercise in terms of fat loss effects and overall health.

Moral of the story: Do something you like to help you get in the shape you want. Set your goals and then plan the best way to get there. And just like children should be taught, we adults have a responsibility to understand that there are somethings we can’t control. I’m sorry ma’am but you’re not going to lose those last formidable 20 pounds in the Zumba room. You gotta build muscle to raise your RMR (resting metabolic rate) and stop eating Burger King after the gym! (LAW!!!)

What are some of your favorite type of workouts?kids runningLeave a comment below or tell me on Twitter, @BreakthroughFP! (actual photo)

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Fitness, Health, Motivation
2 comments on “What 5 year-olds teach us about fitness…
  1. zingzeal808 says:

    Reblogged this on Zing Zeal and commented:
    No kidding! My kindergartener has so much energy! I seem some of his.

Leave a Reply

